[sticky entry] Sticky: Intro (Feb 2025)

Jan. 1st, 2000 12:00 am
lucymonster: (Default)
Hi! I'm Lucy. She/her, 30s, Australian, [archiveofourown.org profile] lucymonster on ao3.

Topics on this blog include fandom (mostly Star Wars), music (mostly metal), and whatever I happen to be reading/watching/playing (skews towards SFF, war history, politics, classic lit, that blockbuster everyone else saw ages ago, and Christian theology that I either cut or filter depending on my mood).

Media and fandom talk are public; RL natter usually goes under f-lock. Let me know if you're interested in being added to my filters for parenting and/or church talk. I can't promise my non-filtered posts will be free of these topics, but I generally try to keep them opt-in.

Feel free to add me for any reason! Introduce yourself here if you like - I'd love to hear from you - but no pressure if you'd rather lurk or just slide straight into the comments of any of my posts and start chatting like we're old friends.
lucymonster: (horror)
Help, I started watching these notorious, near universally panned exploitation films because I was in a bad mood and wanted something to be angry about, except I accidentally ended up thinking they were KIND OF FUCKING GREAT, ACTUALLY, and now I am forced to declare myself a card-carrying member of the Dead Rapists Cinematic Universe fanclub. I swear with hand on heart that I'm not trying to be iconoclastic here. I just. I thought these were good films. I enjoyed them. I can see where the critical consensus is coming from and I don't think it's Wrong, per se, but I also really just completely disagree, which I guess means that I am either a bad feminist or (I'd prefer to think) just vibrating on a different frequency than the mainstream in this case.

Anyway, backing up a bit: I Spit On Your Grave is an extremely controversial rape-revenge horror movie franchise. It's about...well, I guess the genre label is pretty self-explanatory. A rape survivor exacts murderous revenge on her rapists. The original film was released in 1978, and widely banned or censored around the world for its graphic depictions of sexual violence. (A brutal gang rape scene takes up 30 full minutes of runtime.) A remake came out in 2010, followed by a couple of sequels; in 2019, the original director and lead actress returned with a sequel to the 1978 version. So far I have only watched the 2010 remake and its 2015 direct sequel. I plan to watch the 1978 as well but will probably skip the 2019 sequel (which apparently kills my first movie Final Girl blorbo) and am undecided on the 2013 middle movie of the remake trilogy (unrelated plot with all-new characters).

I'm going to put the entire rest of this post under a cut for obvious reasons. But tl;dr, if you can stomach the sexual violence, these movies absolutely have a place in the feminist conversation imo and are very impactful, successful horror in their own right.

Potentially triggering discussion of potentially triggering films under the cut )

Has anyone else here watched any of these movies? Or want to use my "objectively" bad taste new obsession as a jumping-off point to gush about your own favourite exploitation media? Just tell me I'm not alone here in actually really, really liking something I'm by all accounts supposed to hate.
lucymonster: (reylo fight)
Fire and Bones by Kathy Reichs: This is a Temperance Brennan novel, also of Bones TV show fame, chosen with no regard for series order but simply because it's the one my library happened to have available for immediate ebook download when I wanted it. This didn't seem to matter, as it usually doesn't in this kind of long-running crime series. There was some stuff about a relationship in the background that was clearly part of a longer-running arc, but it was pretty self-explanatory and neither took up much page space nor made any difference to the main mystery plot. That said, it was a very odd reading experience, in ways I don't think are accounted for just by not knowing Temperance's full backstory.

No spoilers, just thoughts )

Naked in Death by JD Robb (AKA Nora Roberts): JD Robb is the penname Nora Roberts uses for her near-future, lightly sci-fi tinged crime/romance genre mashup novels. I did start this series in the correct order, at the strict urging of my mother, who has been dying to have someone to enthuse with about these books for ages and who pounced the moment I mentioned being in the mood for something quick, formulaic and exciting. This certainly fit the bill, although it also went to some dark places that I had definitely not osmosed to expect from Nora Roberts.

The protagonist Eve Dallas is a police lieutenant working in New York in the late 2050s. Guns have been outlawed; sex work has been legalised and heavily regulated for safety; despite these facts, sex workers are getting killed with guns in a string of clearly related homicides. Eve is assigned to the case as primary investigator, but her professionalism soon comes under threat from two directions: the nature of the case dredges up old wounds related to her own childhood trauma, while the romantic overtures of a mysterious, handsome, absurdly wealthy entrepreneur named Roarke start to win her over despite her best efforts to stay distant.

More thoughts )

Deliver Me by Ashley Hawthorne: My adventures in pull-to-pub Reylo fic continue, and...oh, man. How do I even begin to review this one? I haven't had such warring feelings about a book since The Hurricane Wars. I think there's a common theme here where I have so much fannish goodwill towards these books that I give them leeway on flaws that would otherwise be an instant DNF, and then I end up enjoying them so much that I'm glad I gave them that leeway, but the flaws are still very much there and ARGH...

Let me start by saying that I unreservedly adore what this book is trying to be. It's about Mia, a Texan college student and devout (but very socially progressive) Christian who joins her Bible study's prison pen pal initiative and gets paired with Gabriel, who at 28 years old has been incarcerated since his mid-teens for the murder of his father. Mia soon comes to understand that Gabriel did not get a fair trial: abandoned by his remaining family, too young and traumatised to self-advocate, he was left to the mercy of an overworked, disinterested public defender and a media circus that the courts took no measures whatsoever to manage. His history of harrowing abuse and the desperate circumstances surrounding the altercation with his father were all excluded from evidence, and he was convicted of capital murder and sentenced to life without parole when his mitigating circumstances should have reduced the conviction to second degree. He and Mia fall in love and begin a relationship through their correspondence; Mia becomes passionate about the brokenness of the Texas justice system and changes her major with the goal of becoming a lawyer; she also convinces a nihilistically resigned Gabriel to appeal his conviction in the hopes of a fairer retrial.

Thoughts, technically with spoilers, though nothing you wouldn't guess from the first few chapters )
lucymonster: (horror)

[VID] Bloody Creature Poster Girl by [archiveofourown.org profile] satanicnightjar: A tribute to monster/demon/slasher/psycho girls in film. Content warnings for blood, gore, violence, and general R-rated content.
lucymonster: (skullheart)
[REC] (2007): This is Spanish found footage horror about a zombie virus outbreak in an apartment complex, filmed by a TV reporting duo who get trapped in there while accompanying first responders for a workplace documentary feature. On the whole I thought it was well executed. The lead reporter went off the deep end and into "We have to film every second of this!!! We have to show them what's really happening!!!!!" territory faster than I thought was entirely convincing, but I was happy to write it off in-universe as her way of coping so that I could kick back and enjoy the grisly terror that ensued.

There are elements of the film that I have to imagine would have been more shocking pre-COVID. Locked inside your apartment building, you say? Prevented by police from seeking basic medical care and supplies, you say? Hazmat-suited biosafety officials roaming outside the window, you say? Well, we've all been there! But the zombies themselves were very scary, and the end scene with spoilers ) had me breathless.

Warm Bodies (2013): A zombie on the hunt for brains meets a girl out scavenging for medical supplies to take back to her walled city, and instead of falling to it, falls in love. The zombie (known only as R, since he can't remember his name or anything about his past life) saves her life (though only after eating her boyfriend) and decides he's going to help her: first by taking her home with him to shelter in the abandoned airport where he and the rest of the horde eke out their shuffling, groaning, flesh-hungry existence; then by escorting her back to the human settlement in safety. But connecting with her has set off some mysterious process inside him, and suddenly he and the other zombies all start to show signs of humanity again.

This was SO CUTE. I loved everything about R's point of view: his shrugging awkwardness, the warm-hearty-meal pleasure of eating brains, his craving for anything that made him feel alive, the things he was self-conscious about (don't stare, she'll think you're a weirdo!) vs the things he wasn't (being a horrific animated corpse - that's just his normal). There's nothing deep or complex going on in this movie at all, but it delivered exactly what I hoped for: the aesthetic trappings of a horror flick, the fluffy joy of a romcom, and the winking sense of humour of a genre-savvy story with no ambition to be anything other than fun.

Two Can Play by Ali Hazelwood: Now this is the Ali Hazelwood story (singular) I’m here for! Our love interest is a very tall, hung, professionally successful STEM genius (a video game designer, this time) and a staunch feminist ally; so staunch, in fact, that he has spent years marinating miserably in his secret love for the heroine rather than run even the faintest trace of a risk that she might, if she were to squint at his actions in the worst possible faith, feel sexually harassed by his approach. Thanks to the fastidious avoidance by which he has overcompensated for his attraction, the heroine has been convinced he hates her - right up until a forced proximity scenario (a mandatory work retreat, this time) exposes our love interest’s true feelings for the heroine and causes her to fall in love with him, too. Delicious.

I wish I could take this as a sign that Ali is returning to my preferred form after the great big bundle of Not My Thing that was her last full length novel, Problematic Summer Romance. Alas, this novella actually predates that; it has only just hit shelves in print, but it was released as an Audible exclusive back in 2024, and I ignored its existence until now because fuck Audible exclusives. So while I’m always holding out hope for more rehashes of this exact story, I dare not hope too highly. Ali’s next release could still end up being another "hot for big brother's friend" age gap kinkathon. Or another omegaverse. Maybe it’ll be age gap big brother's friend omegaverse! To whatever god/s or higher powers you acknowledge, please pray for me that it not be so.
lucymonster: (i have spoken)
So, just about everyone I know irl has been talking about this new Louis Theroux documentary in which he interviews manosphere influencers and tries to figure out what makes them tick.

I found it a worthwhile but frustrating watch. Frustrating not because of anything Theroux does - he is courteous and perceptive throughout, and imo strikes a very good balance between his moral obligation to challenge toxic rhetoric and his pragmatic need to be non-threatening so his subjects will keep talking - but frustrating because the whole topic is just so wretched, and because, as with all far right movements, there really is no mutual good-faith conversation to be had. The men who are profiting off the manosphere aren't interested in good faith. As this documentary exposes, they're barely even interested in their own professed ideology. The only thing they care about is making money, and they've learnt through experience that saying vile shit gets them attention they can cash in on. So it doesn't matter how much blatant bullshit you catch them out on. Bullshit is controversy, and controversy is attention, and attention is profit. Heads they win, tails you lose.

What I will say is that their "victory" is one of the most hollow things I've ever witnessed in my life. These influencers are spending their whole lives pumping iron, prowling the streets for "content", and making the shallowest possible small talk with parasocially overinvested strangers. Young men whose lives supposedly revolve around all the hot sex they're getting (that YOU could get too, if only you stopped making excuses for yourself and invested all the savings from your after-school McDonalds job in this crypto scam they're flogging!) are hosting pool parties for crowds of OnlyFans models just to sit in a corner glued to their phones, too busy keeping up with the tepid memes being spammed by teenage boys in their livestream chats to notice all the near-naked women flaunting tits and ass right in their faces. They brag about the freedom of not having to attend a nine-to-five job, but instead of answering to a traditional boss, they're instead beholden to fickle social media algorithms and the whims of attention-span-challenged audiences who require ever more extreme behaviour to keep them engaged. Like, fuck. I'd take a regular human manager any day of the week.

I will also say that the contrast between all these puffed-up, roided-out, hypermasculine peacocks and the polite, scrawny, middle-aged British man interviewing them was really something to behold. It was fragile overcompensation vs authentic self-confidence blown up to an almost cartoonish degree. I particularly enjoyed the little tongue-in-cheek sting at the end where Theroux, having been good-naturedly "humiliated" on the boxing arcade machine earlier in the documentary, got in one last make-up swing on his own that earned a far more impressive score. It was a very sly way of saying "See, I could hold my own in you guys' macho dick-waving contests if I wanted to! I just don't want to, because why the fuck would I?" and I love him for it.

I also love him for the compassion he was able to maintain towards the men he talked to, even and especially when they wanted to make it all into some him-vs-them fight for survival. Manosphere influencers are some of social media's lowest-hanging fruit in terms of hateability. Looking at the bright-eyed little boys they used to be and reflecting, with an open heart, on what went wrong in their lives to make a life of vapid and viciously competitive materialism look like something to aspire to is much less emotionally satisfying than fuming over their outrageous behaviour. But at some point I guess we just have to reflect anyway, because a whole new generation of bright-eyed little boys are being drawn in by this content before they've developed the critical thinking skills to resist it. Seeing that part - seeing crowds of boys whose voices had barely dropped yet flock to these jerks on the street - was more upsetting by far than anything the jerks themselves have ever said. Theroux didn't offer a solution and I sure as shit don't have one either, but at least making the effort to step outside the cycle of outrage seems as good a place as any to start.
lucymonster: (horror)
Me when I catch my kids' cold: 🙁🤧
Me when my husband doesn't catch our kids' cold, meaning I get to spend like half the weekend watching horror movies in bed while he takes over the heavy-duty parenting: 😈😈😈😈😈

Get Out (2017): HOLY SHIT WOW OKAY. WOW. I confess to being surprised back in 2017 when the whole world suddenly started saying that Jordan Peele, who I knew only as one of the two guys who made silly skits about hats, was actually a huge horror genius. I get it now. This was absolutely terrifying, but in a way that feels very different from any of the other horror I've been binging over this last couple of months. It has all the cleverness and humour you'd expect from a career comedian turned wunderkind of elevated horror, coupled with villains who are straight-up bloodcurdling in their fetishistic admiration of Blackness and cold disregard for real Black lives.

Chris is a young Black photographer on a trip out of town to meet his white girlfriend's family for the first time. They present as stereotypical white Liberals: wealthy but self-effacing, welcoming but awkward, proud of their self-avowed colourblindness but incapable of meeting an actual Black person without being deeply weird about race. And of course, all those smiles and good intentions turn out to be a deliberate front: the Armitage family has a secret, incredibly sinister plot to acquire and exploit Black bodies, and Chris finds himself ensnared in it before he has time to realise his unease is a gut response to something much darker than a few fumbling microaggressions. This film blew my mind. It was scary, it was funny, it was FUN, and underneath all that it was an extremely clear-sighted callout of a kind of covert racism that almost a full decade later still often seems to get a pass.

The Conjuring (2013): I loved this! It's a straightforward haunted house/demonic possession type story - family moves into creaky old country house, bad supernatural things happen, demonologists come to the rescue with a terrifying climactic exorcism scene - but every part of it is executed to spooky perfection. It's aesthetically beautiful (of the several posters/covers, this one best captures the ~vibe imo), has a cast of likeable characters I was cheering for the whole time, and manages to sustain an immaculate atmosphere of paranormal suspense livened up with just a small handful of well-timed jumpscares. No complaints. Prime material for a semi-regular Halloween rewatch.

I've always found stories involving professional exorcists, paranormal investigators etc. oddly comforting, no matter how scary they try to be. I know I should be alarmed by the idea that the supernatural not only exists but is sufficiently widespread to have spawned a viable career path, but it's just so nice to think that if you're ever in a situation where traditional law enforcement fails you, there's some stake-wielding hero or beautiful clairvoyant or quietly powerful magic shop owner out there who will put their own life on the line to help you. It's even nicer in stories where the rules of Christian folklore apply, and you can cling to a crucifix or a bottle of holy water for protection during your hero's brief but unavoidable offscreen time. The Christians do very much have to be Catholic, though. This is theologically disappointing but aesthetically essential. Imagine if you were in one of these movies, cowering in some dark, haunted corner as you wait for your exorcist to arrive, and then in walks some Protestant fresh from his drab conference-hall worship centre wearing his clerical collar with jeans. Dude doesn't even know Latin, probably. He and the demon are going to have to communicate through Google Translate.

Paranormal Activity (2007): Katie has been experiencing terrors in the dead of night since she was eight years old. Her shitty boyfriend Micah, finding out about them after they move in together, decides to "help" her by treating the whole thing as a sleuthing game and antagonising the demon attached to her while filming the whole thing. This is some seriously stripped back horror: something like half the runtime is just footage of the couple sleeping, while the other half is an increasingly weary Katie begging Micah not to film her, all happening inside the same few rooms of a neat, modern, unremarkable suburban American house. And it is SCARY. It had me on tenterhooks the whole time, heart leaping into my throat with every footstep noise or flicker of shadow. The final shot almost had me out of my seat.

Unlike The Conjuring, there are no comforting demonologists to save the day here; they exist, but they're, like, super busy and can't help you. I think that part might actually have been even scarier than the demon.

A Nightmare on Elm Street (1984): A group of teens start having vivid nightmares about the same disfigured man with knives on his fingers; if he kills them in their dreams, they die in real life. Now, this one I definitely did watch back in high school! Almost none of it actually jogged my memory, though, besides the Freddy costume itself and the scene where he slits his abdomen to reveal all those maggots. Man, though, what a fun slasher. I'd forgotten how funny Freddy is, the way he does his murders like they're playful capers - and then how scary it is at the end, when he loses his temper at being bested by Nancy and that playfulness turns to unbridled rage.
lucymonster: (library ghost)
(Behold! A cute new ghost librarian icon for spooky reading specifically. I've uploaded some new horror movie themed icons, too. Gotta get the most out of my paid account.)

Seventeen-year-old Jade Daniels is a half-Blackfeet girl living with her abusive father in a small lakeside town in Idaho. Alienated and lonely, she retreats into slasher movies, fantasising vividly about a real-life slasher villain someday appearing to tear up the town she hates. But then a community of uberwealthy developers and media moguls move into a new luxury settlement in the national park across the lake, bringing with them a daughter Jade's age who turns out to be the perfect embodiment of the slasher genre's Final Girl archetype; bodies start washing up, killed in mysterious ways, and Jade becomes convinced that her fantasy is at last coming true.

This is - oh, man. I LOVED this book. Jones does not for one second allow the fact that he is a middle-aged man to interfere with the overwhelmingly authentic troubled-teenage-girlness of Jade as a protagonist. I know this girl. I'm friends with this girl. I literally went to school with this girl, or at least, a few different girls who add up to her. Her viewpoint is blinkered by all the petty adolescent foibles you'd expect as well as the much darker stuff, and it's a big source of poignancy that we as adult readers can see the very different version of events being experienced by the few adults who care about Jade and are trying to help her, but she cannot see it at all. She remains fervently committed to the world she has constructed for herself in a way only kids of this almost-worldly, I-know-it-all-now age can be - which makes it all the more impactful when she and the adults both turn out to be completely right, in ways that should be fundamentally incompatible but somehow aren't.

So, yeah. The character work and overall handling of narrative themes in this novel are among the best I've read in ages. I am therefore all the more inclined to nitpick its structural flaws, because (to reduce things to a simplified Goodreads rating system) I really badly wanted this to be a five-star book but could only in good faith award it four. Which still puts it well inside my "heartily recommend" bracket by any measure! If you haven't read it but think you might like to, please add my name to the list of people who've recced it to you and stop reading here. What follows will be both spoiler-riddled and comparatively far less important than the book's strengths.

Major spoilers under the cut )

On the other hand, I don't know it's just because I acclimated myself to Jones' prose last year with The Only Good Indians, but I found this an easier, more aesthetically pleasing read. And the cover design is gorgeous in this very simple, distilled way that breezily outperforms many more elaborate confections. If I ever spot a copy of this book secondhand, I'm snapping it up because it will look lovely on my shelf, and also because I know it's one I'm going to want to read again down the line. I just love Jade so much.
lucymonster: (bookcuppa)
In the early part of the nineteenth century, Emma, a farmer's daughter from a tiny rural French village, consents to marry Charles Bovary, a cheerfully mediocre country doctor who fell in love with her while treating her father's broken leg. Emma has grown up an avid reader of romances and sentimental poetry; her head is full of passionate, idyllic expectations to which the humble realities of her life as Madame Bovary fail utterly to measure up. She sinks into a deep depression, spends profligately to assuage her existential boredom, and embarks on a series of adulterous affairs as she nurses an ever-deepening contempt for her adoring but unexciting husband.

I enormously enjoyed almost all of this book. I say "almost" because the ending was not enjoyable at all, but I admire and respect and agree with the way everything concluded even if it didn't exactly spark joy. Honestly, if there is such a thing as a perfect novel, this one might just be that; every part of it is executed smoothly, effectively and with magnificent literary flare.

I cannot overstate the loveliness of Flaubert's prose. I read it in English (the 1886 Eleanor Marx-Aveling version, specifically) but even in translation it was impossible not to appreciate how clean and finely tuned the use of language is. There's a cinematic quality to everything, a vivid precision, that fills each scene to bursting with evocative imagery but never once tips over into excess. The writing is also unflaggingly witty and wry, but in an understated way, not harsh or cynical; Madame Bovary receives no quarter for her terrible decisions but I also never felt like Flaubert lacked compassion for her.

On the contrary, her downfall arises from the most painfully human emotional state: she takes for granted what she has, and exaggerates the value of what she doesn't. The life Emma Bovary was born to was one of comfortable ordinariness: she is secure but not wealthy, clever but not brilliant, loved warmly and unconditionally but without passion. But her peaceful life is worthless to her, and the idea of happiness being derived from within never even seems to occur to her. She craves drama, romance, specialness, and feels hard done by when life fails to deliver it to her. She attributes her feelings of emptiness and dissatisfaction to some inadequacy of her life circumstances: if she only possessed XYZ trappings of wealth, or if only a suitably passionate lover arrived to sweep her off her feet, all her misery would evaporate and she'd finally experience true happiness. And when the expensive goods and the torrid affairs fail to make her happy, instead of realising the fundamental flaw in her philosophy, she doubles down harder and keeps chasing that next, bigger, stronger hit that will surely satisfy her hunger at last.

Flaubert is extremely funny about the disconnect between Madame Bovary's pretensions and her material life circumstances. I want to quote the whole several pages in which a lover's impassioned declarations to her are interwoven with the proceedings of a local agricultural fair going on outside the window of their love-nest, but I'll satisfy myself with this short excerpt:

'Thus we,' he said, 'why did we come to know one another? What chance willed it? It was because across the infinite, like two streams that flow but to unite, our special bents of mind had driven us towards each other.'
And he seized her hand; she did not withdraw it.
'For good farming generally!' cried the president.
'Just now, for example, when I went to your house-'
'To Monsieur Bizat of Quincampoix-'
'Did I know I should accompany you?'
'Seventy francs.'
'A hundred times I wished to go; and I followed you - I remained.'
'Manures!'
'And I shall remain tonight, tomorrow, all other days, all my life!'
'To Monsieur Caron of Argueil, a gold medal!'


The whole book is in this tone, more or less. It's utterly delightful.
lucymonster: (eat drink and be scary)
Contrapoints has released a new video essay! It's about Saw! Much shorter than her usual, but filled with all the same tongue-in-cheek cleverness and philosophising and wild tangents and running jokes. And, of course, costume porn. For this video she has messed up her hair and makeup and wrapped herself in barbed wire, and guys, it is doing things to me. I knew I admired Contrapoints but I didn't know I was hot for Contrapoints. Turns out I very much am hot for Contrapoints, at least when she does herself up like she's just escaped a Saw trap. Damn.

Anyway, watching this was a kind of DIY exposure therapy for me, lol. The Saw franchise is pretty much the reason I spent all these years thinking of myself as Not A Horror Person. I'd been really enjoying my forays into the genre in my mid/late teens, until my then-gf and I decided to host an overnight Saw marathon for all our other edgelord friends. I think I actually quite liked the first one. But we kept going (this was the late 2000s, there were already five or six of them by this point), and we were tipping into the early hours of the morning when I'm prone to feeling queasy anyway, and I was very tired and probably a bit drunk, and I remember falling into this awful half-doze where I could still hear all the screams and gory squelches coming from the TV set. At one point I came fully awake to a conveyor belt full of rotting pig carcasses getting splattered all over everything for some reason? It was the exact kind of gross that I like least in the world, and my sleep-soggy brain was not equipped to handle it. But of course I was a teenage edgelord surrounded by all her edgelord friends, so I still did not stop watching. But from then on, when I thought of horror movies, I thought of that night, and the association made the whole genre feel nauseating.

(I want to be strictly fair to Saw here: my mental health deck was also stacked against it. Around the same time period, for unrelated reasons, my needle phobia really kicked into overdrive and my vasovagal response was expanding to trigger on all sorts of other unpredictable forms of gore; since it was so hard to guess which sights of blood would be harmless and which would set off a fainting spell, I became really avoidant of violent movies in general.)

I'm definitely not at a point in my horror (re)discovery journey yet where I want to rewatch Saw. Maybe someday I'll be desensitised enough, or maybe I will always be a bit too squeamish. But watching a gorgeous woman draped in elaborate barbed wire jewellery talk about Saw is much more in my wheelhouse. Also she has made me want to watch a bunch of Quentin Tarantino movies, which is not specifically what I expected from a video titled "Saw", but this is Contrapoints so there's always some kind of massive tangent you could never have guessed from the title that ends up swallowing half the runtime. And that's why we love her.
lucymonster: (eat drink and be scary)
The Silence of the Lambs (1991): Okay, so, this an actual masterpiece and I can 100% see why it's on all those "best films of all time" lists. I loved it, but it's so good that saying I loved it feels kind of superfluous; as a work of art it is just so far above the liking or disliking of one barely film-literate nerd with a Dreamwidth blog. But I'm going to review it anyway because there's a good chance it's going to end up being my favourite piece of media I've consumed this year and maybe even one of my favourite pieces of all time. GUYS. THIS FILM.

The heroine is Clarice Starling, a bright and ambitious FBI trainee who becomes involved in the hunt for Buffalo Bill, a serial killer who skins his victims. Clarice is sent to interview Dr. Hannibal Lecter, a genius psychiatrist and convicted serial killer whom the FBI believe may be able to help them identify Buffalo Bill. I love that in a film where the whole plot revolves around catching and stopping a guy who is on the loose literally skinning people, the most terrifying character is one who spends most of his screentime locked safely in a prison cell. Lecter had the most chilling presence of any villain I've ever seen. He also had this intense, darkly playful, weirdly chivalrous interest in Clarice that appealed to me in ways I'm not sure I'm willing to examine too closely. (Known villainfucker horny for new villain, news at 11.) The acting was absolutely brilliant all around; the cinematography was beautiful in this grim, grounded way; the score was haunting; the climactic scene almost stopped my heart.

It was also - this is going to sound like very weak praise in comparison to all my gushing, but I'll say it anyway - a lot less transphobic than I thought it might be, given the whole concept of "crazed man denied gender reassignment surgery goes on a murder rampage so that he can wear the skin of his female victims". I know there's been criticism and controversy around this film (and I'm speaking as a cis viewer, so grain of salt and all that) but the filmmakers were very explicit, in the language of their time, that Buffalo Bill was a profoundly disturbed individual whose pathology had nothing to do with an LGBT identity. I also on a more personal level really appreciated the handling of (cis) gender issues, which I know has also been controversial: there was no "teachable" feminist moment, it's true, but the misogyny and pervasive sexual menace Clarice experienced as a female law enforcement officer was vividly present on screen in a way that was impossible to mistake for endorsement, and Clarice herself is an amazingly well-rounded character, competent and fallible and brave and scared and utterly human. I loved how the film demanded we identify with her and forced us to sit with her in those uncomfortable moments, for which, as in real life, there was no clear-cut or simple redress.

Re-Animator (1985): A brilliant but antisocial medical student has developed a serum that can reanimate the dead, and ropes his normie roommate into his batshit experiments, with fatal consequences for their reputations and also, potentially, their actual lives. This one was just straight-up fun! It features a zombie doctor carrying his own severed head around in a surgical tray full of donor blood to keep it alive, and from that one detail I think anyone should be able to make up their minds whether or not the film will be to their taste. I thought it was hilarious, and some really great homoerotic tension between the weird serum inventor and the normie roommate. I had hoped to be able to join [personal profile] snickfic in her fannish enthusiasm for them, but sadly didn't quite get there (neither of them has the overlong hair or angstbucket backstory that my fannish motor primarily runs on). But I really enjoyed the film and can see myself watching it again on a night when I just want to have a good time.
lucymonster: (eat drink and be scary)
Since my sudden mania for film shows no signs of slowing, I've created a Letterboxd account. I don't really plan to use it for much besides tracking what I've watched and what I plan to watch, but add me if you're a user and I'll heart your reviews when I see them. :)

Anyway it has been A Week and I've been too tired by the end of each day to do ANYTHING other than vegetate in front of the TV, and specifically to vegetate in front of something scary and tense enough to prevent my otherwise inevitable zoning-out. The upside of which is yay, more horror movies!

Hell House LLC (2015): A documentary crew investigates a haunted house attraction that went gruesomely wrong on its opening night, leading to more than a dozen fatalities under baffling circumstances which the authorities have hushed up. When [personal profile] snickfic recced this movie to me, I said I would not watch it because clowns gross me out. But the haunted house + found footage conceit was calling to me enough that I decided I could probably handle the clowns - and hey, I was right! This is not especially clowny clown horror by my highly arbitrary personal standards that mostly boil down to "there are no gross clown smiles" and "there are no even grosser clown laughs". Maybe this is a gateway for me? Maybe someday I'll be sufficiently desensitised to clowns that I can catch up to the rest of the world and watch It? Whatever the case, I had fun with this movie. I admired the filmmakers' decision to leave so many questions unanswered and I think that uncertainty is scarier than any explicit answers they could have devised. (For that reason, I'm going to go right on ahead and ignore the fact that there are sequels. Not EVERYTHING has to be a franchise, damn. The movie stands alone just fine.)

On a minor note, I REALLY liked the piano-and-violin piece in the soundtrack. Beautifully simple, beautifully discordant.

Carrie (1976): I am once again standing in awe of the incredibly broad palate of flavours that get lumped together under the "horror" label. This movie is not a scare so much as an anguished distillation of the cruelties of high school. Carrie suffers horrific religious abuse at home and extreme bullying at school; after falling victim to a very public and sadistic "prank" during senior prom, she unleashes her budding telekinetic powers on the watching crowd with murderous results. But her rampage is - well, not an afterthought per se, but it happens right at the end of the film in a dizzying blitz; the vast majority of the screentime (and the most visceral source of horror, for me at least) is the long, slow lead-up to the prank, as tension mounts between the glow-up narrative Carrie thinks she's living and the humiliation we know she's about to suffer.

I am not enough of a Film Buff(TM) to comment on the weird split-screen thing they were doing during the climax, or whatever the fuck was happening at the start with that borderline pornographic locker room shower scene. Both of them threw me out a bit but neither was enough of a hiccup to spoil what was otherwise a really gripping story.

The Old Dark House (1932): I watched this because it stars Boris Karloff, and while it may not be one of his most iconic roles, it was the one my library happened to have on offer at the moment I found myself thinking, 'Hey, I should watch some Boris Karloff!' So on those qualifications, I bring you this old-school spooky cult classic about two small groups of travellers who are forced by a violent storm to go begging for shelter at an isolated old house in the Welsh countryside, whose eccentric inhabitants turn out to be harbouring a deadly family secret. Karloff's physical acting is impressive: his character, Morgan the butler, is completely mute but has an immense screen presence (literally as well as metaphorically) despite the lack of dialogue. He's a hulking mass of danger whose sullen subservience turns to violent, lust-addled malice when he drinks, as of course he does on the stormy night in question. There's also a romance between a feckless WWI vet and a chorus girl who is only technically not the sugar baby of one of the other houseguests, which aside from being endearing in its own right was a lot more risqué than I expected of a movie from the 30s. Evidently the "pre-Code" label is more than just a historical technicality!
lucymonster: (skeleton)
Here's a life hack for time-poor music fans. If you ignore all new releases within your chosen genre for an entire calendar year, then you get to read a whole bunch of Album of the Year lists at your convenience and listen to ONLY the best stuff.

Which is to say: I have a couple more music recs that aren't, like, hrr grr arrgh blargh Satan! Recs that have maybe a passing chance of appealing to the majority of you who aren't into extreme metal! I also have some recs that probably only Zook and Liriaen and Kimara should even bother glancing at, let alone listening to if they haven't already, but I'll stick those at the bottom of the post. Because it seems like a lot of the best "metal" of 2025 was actually quite mild and accessible, or even just straight up crossover stuff that wasn't really metal at all but appealed to a lot of metalheads for its dark ambiance and experimentality.

Album recs, normal person edition

The Spin by Messa: Smoky, jazzy female vocals over a goth-tinged canvas of reverb-heavy guitar and driving beats. I don't think I've found a single AotY list in my whole search that did not include this album in the top couple of spots. Technically it's doom metal but I really don't think you need to be a doom metal fan, or a metal fan in general, to appreciate this; it's just gorgeous.

Here, have a music video! It's more aesthetic than riveting, but it does feature the extremely attractive singer on a motorbike and is a good representative sample of the album. If you bounce off this song, there's nothing here for you; if you like it, oh boy do you have a treat coming with the rest of the album. <3



Camgirl by Crippling Alcoholism: I honestly have no idea what to call this. It's not metal, though metalheads have been loving it; it's too heavy to be post-punk or goth rock or synthwave, but it has elements of all of them. It's dark and dreamy and wonderful and I have listened to it so many times in the last few days. (Disclaimer: this is a concept album about a sex worker, and I can only make out about half of the lyrics. Quite possibly it's sympathetic and thoughtful? I'm choosing to hear it as sympathetic and thoughtful. But I can't rule out the presence of bigoted shit in the less intelligible parts, and I haven't bothered to listen to any band interviews about the inspiration behind the album, so I cannot in good faith vouch for them as anything other than auditorily enjoyable.)

There might be more coming; in particular, there are new albums by Ainsoph and Calva Louise that come highly recommended and based on their first couple of tracks have a lot of promise, but I haven't found time to give them a full listen yet. But I honestly just want to spend a while listening to The Spin and Camgirl on repeat before I delve into anything else. They're SO GOOD.

Album recs, hrr grr argh Satan edition

Scapulimancy by Hedonist: This is fantastically fun, catchy, filthy death metal with brutal vocals and chugging Bolt Thrower-esque riffs. It's not an album that prompts any sophisticated or nuanced response in me whatsoever; it's an album that scoops the thoughts out of my brain and replaces them with nothing but primitive satisfaction. I don't headbang but this band makes me want to. Just. FUCK yes.

Heritage by Structure: Bear with me. You're all alone in the middle of a black night ocean that is maybe a real body of water or maybe a metaphor for your filthy conscience, being dragged down into the unfathomable depths by an anchor tied to your feet. Looking up as you sink, you see the cosmic sparkle of millions of stars refracting through the water's surface from far above. This is death/doom at its best and I am thoroughly smitten.
lucymonster: (eat drink and be scary)
My movie-watching roll has slowed a little, but I've still watched a few things over the last couple of weeks. One I hated so much that I'm not even going to mention it here because I want to let the memory fade (probably nothing anyone else will have deep feelings about, just this Scandinavian horror flick my library streaming app happened to be promoting that hit some squicks I didn't know I had). The other three are below!

The Craft (1996): Well, we can add this to the list of things I'm glad I didn't get into back in high school. It would have been my whole personality for, like, a semester at least. I would have been even more insufferable than I was during my Buffy phase. New girl Sarah falls in with a clique of three witchy misfits who, empowered by her natural gift for the occult, start using magic to solve their problems in increasingly dangerous ways. This film is an utter delight. Extremely nineties, extremely teen angst (but in a fond, earnest way), too campy to be truly scary but with a really fun and satisfying horror aesthetic. I have so many feelings about those poor downtrodden, miserable girls who tasted power for the first time and went mad with it. There was also some very tempting hateshippy tension between Sarah and Nancy, the coven's leader. I had a feeling if I looked this up on AO3 it would prove to be one of those comparatively rare fandoms where F/F dominates, and I was right; there is nearly as much F/F as all other categories combined. (On the other hand, there are only 125 fics total, which feels very unfair. Filing it away in my mind as a Yuletide option for later this year.)

Ringu (1998): Ring fan mutuals, I'm so sorry, I have failed you. :( I think probably this one was just too similar to its remake for me to enjoy watching them this close together. There were parts I liked better in this older version - especially the close-ups on the dead faces instead of those annoying barely-visible flashes the 2002 version does, and the fact that the little boy seems happier and better-adjusted in this one - but the suspense wasn't there and the production was less glossy, and I ended up getting interrupted in the middle of the well-digging-out scene and haven't bothered to go back. I might try again in a few years once my memories have faded?

Wake Up Dead Man (2025): When cultish Catholic priest/culture warrior Monsignor Wicks is murdered, suspicion naturally falls on Father Jud, the recently assigned assistant priest who has made no secret of his opposition to Wicks' vicious preaching style. The brainwashed congregation all turn on him, but Detective Benoit Blanc is convinced of Father Jud's innocence and enlists his help to expose the true murderer.

I think this might be my favourite Benoit Blanc movie to date. It's not as clever as Knives Out or as funny as Glass Onion, but it has so much heart and soul and kindness to it, even and especially when its tongue is planted firmly in its cheek. It is neither pro- nor anti-Catholicism; Wicks is a vile character who embodies the bigoted, exploitative, self-aggrandising side of the Church, while Jud embodies the earnest love, faith and self-forgetfulness of the Church as it should be. Not to be weird about an imaginary Catholic priest but Jud is also kind of hot, in a vaguely Adam Driver-ish way that's mostly ears and angles. I enjoyed his screen presence a lot.
lucymonster: (skeleton)
Been a while since I made a music post, mostly because I haven't been listening to anything new. But this evening I started listening to Cherry Red Apocalypse by Melissa Bonny and just...didn't stop. I can't tell yet whether this is going to have longevity or is just a passing fad, but any album that on first listen makes me immediately need like two or three more full listens and then a bunch of favourite song repeats at least deserves a post.

For once I'm not metalposting, either! Well, okay, it's sort of metal-adjacent; Melissa Bonny was a metal vocalist, but has just launched her solo career with a tracklist that's more pop/rock than anything else, albeit with a lovely dark twist. Here's the first song off the album, which is also my very favourite:

lucymonster: (yoda whee)
A quick drive-by post to rec my gifts, all three of which I am in heaven about! I will never get over how amazing it feels to have someone spend their time and talent tailor-making a thing just for me, and to have it be such a genuinely excellent thing in its own right on top of being laser-targeted to my tastes...yeah, I am so spoilt. And so, so happy.

Double Jeopardy, Star Wars, Reylo & Finnpoe, G, 1,111 words (I always love a neat wordcount): Ben is alive post-TROS and Rey has a VERY funny idea of how to keep him safe from war crimes prosecution! This fic is whip-smart and fond and perfectly captures my favourite Ben Solo Lives dynamic where Rey is like YAY and literally everyone else is like ARE YOU KIDDING ME?

The Stars Adjudge Their Own, Star Wars, Finnlo, T, 3.5k: Instead of killing Han Solo at the end of TFA, Kylo gets knocked out and dragged home to his mother very much against his will. The Kylo in this fic is his own worst enemy, as is right and proper; the gap between how he thinks he comes across and how we the audience know he's coming across is delightful. Also, Finn has to help him pee while his hands are bound, and I did not realise that would be so hot but WOW that's so hot.

Collaboration, The Love Hypothesis, Adam & Anh, G, 1k: Olive is sick, and Adam ropes Anh into helping him pick out a medical clinic's worth of OTC remedies to help her feel better. I was biting my nails whether my sock would end up getting a gift at all, because I was the second-last pinch hit to get claimed and had asked the mod not to delay reveals just for my sake if it came to that, given that I was double-dipping. But I really did badly want a gift in one of those fandoms, so when my hero came along at the last minute, I was even more :DDDDDD than ever. And this fic is just SO SWEET and funny and in-character and I love it to pieces.
lucymonster: (eat drink and be scary)
Video essay

First of all, on my last post about Australian horror movies, [personal profile] rhoda_rants linked me to this great video essay about Australian horror, which I did not know had a reputation overseas as being notably brutal even for the genre. Well worth a watch! I'm still chewing on the contents and deciding how much I agree with them (for instance, my emotional reaction to Wolf Creek was quite different from the essayist's, see below) but in particular I thought the analysis of colonialism as a major (albeit unexamined) presence in the Australian concept of an inherently dangerous and inhospitable Outback was spot on. I think deep down we all know damn well that this continent was not made to support a population of pale-skinned agrarians, and I'm very interested now to track down the cited anthology of Aboriginal horror shorts that portray the land not as a threat but as a source of comfort in the face of imported danger.

Feature films

Wolf Creek (2005): Two young British tourists and an Aussie bloke they've taken up with experience car troubles while roadtripping through the far remote Australian Outback, and accept help from a charming older man who turns out to be a sadistic serial killer. This is a film that excels at its objective, and its objective is something I do not really vibe with and don't care to experience again. It was just...brutal. Brutal and cruel and bleak in a way that felt far too grounded and believable to be fun. There's no mercy for the victims at all, no real moments of relief or triumph, no room for hope to grow. Mick, the killer, is not your cartoonish slasher villain in a silly mask. He's normal and lovable in a way that from an Australian perspective feels almost sacred - an embodiment of the tough, friendly, irreverent outback Aussie spirit in an era where most of us now live in cities. (He's not an over-the-top Crocodile Dundee type, either. I have a grandfather and some uncles out in WA who are just like Mick, minus the penchant for rape and murder.) It was also unnerving to see Cassandra Magrath in the role of one of the victims; I know her as the beloved daughter character in the extremely tonally different show SeaChange. This film was not really much more gory than The Texas Chain Saw Massacre but the violence felt far more shocking and unpleasant. Thanks, I hate it! The directors did great, though.

Friday the 13th (1980): Well, this was a happy accident! I was absolutely sure this was one of the few horror movies I'd already watched back in my teens, and so I didn't bother to look up a plot synopsis before watching. If I had, then I would probably have been put off by the reveal of spoilers ) But:
1) I apparently had the film mixed up with Nightmare on Elm Street, which is the one I actually did watch in high school (I think I also watched Halloween, but I won't be 100% sure until I rewatch it).
2) The execution was campy enough that the upsetting-to-me themes didn't bother me at all in this case, and in fact made for a really great twist that deepened what until then seemed like a rather bland "everybody dies for no good reason" type slasher.

I don't have much more to say about this one, which is at least partly because I watched it with Husband and Close Friend who when put together are unstoppable chatterboxes during movies, and the vibe was more fun group hangout than serious media analysis. But it was fun! And I think I'll watch more of them, maybe next month when the salient date comes around again thanks to February being a round 28 days this year.

DNF: Black Water (2007): I got bored about halfway through this and gave up. I thought I would like it because it's all about a croc attack, and I am all about croc attacks in other contexts - I gobble up documentaries about terrifying wildlife and have had some great times during feeding hour at various national reptile parks. But by the time a solid half hour had elapsed of these three comically underprepared dickheads being stuck up a mangrove tree with no crocodile in sight, I just didn't care anymore. They probably got eaten eventually. Oh, well.

In lieu of a serious review, I'm just going to treat you guys (if you haven't already seen it) to a wildly popular crocodile-related Australian meme. Here's how one of our most famously nutty politicians responded when approached on the subject of same-sex marriage:



Horror shorts

Finally, a couple of horror shorts I watched recently. I don't have much to say about these, but they were fun, and I thought I'd link them in case others of you guys have also seen them/might be interested:

Connect 4 by RDCworld1: I knew these guys for their entertaining merging of Black "hood" culture with weeb/gamer geekery, but apparently now they do horror shorts as well! Connect 4 is a little paranormal snippet with a streak of gallows humour; I enjoyed it a lot.

2am: The Smiling Man by Michael Evans: The physical acting in this! Super, super scary body language. Also great editing. Loved it.
lucymonster: (bookcuppa)
These have nothing in common besides both being books that I have recently read; but I feel like discussing them, so here they are, crammed incongruously next to each other.

Didn't Nobody Give a Shit What Happened to Carlotta by James Hannaham: A Black trans woman emerges from multi-decade imprisonment to find her old neighbourhood gentrified, her family both unrecognising and unrecognisable, and everyone on the street glued to their strange little flashy devices. This novel follows her in minute detail through the first few days of her release, on a Fourth of July weekend, as she revels in her new freedom, makes magnificently bad choices about what to do with it, and struggles to come to terms with both the brutal trauma she experienced while incarcerated in a men's prison and the heavy disadvantages she now faces as a parolee. It's written in an experimental prose style that moves freely (usually mid-sentence) between grammatically standard third person and first person AAVE dialect.

Listen, I have a fairly low tolerance for literary gimmicks, but I LOVED this. It was like a prose-level expression of Carlotta's irrepressible personality - she wasn't going to let even an imaginary narrator tell her story for her! Her voice just wouldn't stop bursting past the strictures of narrative convention! Punctuation itself couldn't slow her down!

My War Criminal: Personal Encounters with an Architect of Genocide by Jessica Stern: This is a sort of biography/character study/personal memoir about Radovan Karadžić. Perhaps you're looking at the title, as I did, thinking: "Surely there's a tasteful explanation for that possessive pronoun! Surely a German Jewish academic approaching this topic with full retrospective knowledge of the horrors of the Bosnian genocide is not going to be writing fondly about a war criminal she interviewed, as if he's some fuckboy who she knows full well is bad news but can't quite stop hoping to tame!" Alas. Reader, alas.

The book is not only tasteless but also badly written. It's muddled in scope; you start each chapter not knowing if you're going to get sensible historical background, a rambling tangent about Karadžić's cousin's ageing mother, or a breathless "dear diary" recounting of one of Karadžić and Stern's interview sessions. It's like a packet of Bertie Bott's Every Flavour Beans, but with war crimes! The chapters themselves are written simply and with a popular audience in mind, insofar as an English language book about a Balkan genocidaire is ever going to be popular. But every chapter comes with half-as-long-again endnotes to reaffirm Stern's academic credentials, including page-length elaborations on points that should invariably either have been included in the body text or excluded altogether.

But I kept reading because it is - and clearly intentionally, albeit in a clumsy way - a useful case study in how charismatic leaders can win people over even in the face of conclusive proof against them. Knowledge, experience, a high level of education, none of these things are foolproof protection from the primal human emotions that populists and authoritarians excel at exploiting. This is an upsettingly relevant reminder at a time when affluent Western democracies around the world are facing an ever-rising tide of far right extremism. It's easy from the outside to cringe at Stern's descriptions of how much she came to crave Karadžić's approval, but if I decided to repeat her experiment, lock myself in a small room with an indicted war criminal and allow him to tell me his story on his own terms without interruption or challenge, then perhaps I, too, in all my self-ascribed wisdom and virtue, would emerge having learnt the pleasures of genocide apologism. It's not a nice thought.

Stern's final conclusions are incoherent: that Karadžić is a grandiose Serbian nationalist who intentionally inflamed ethnic tensions to win political power, but also, that the impersonal force of those inflamed ethnic tensions was somehow what drove him off the deep end to start with? Also, she did not kiss him goodbye. It's important we all know that she did not kiss him goodbye at the end of their last interview session. To quote my kids at the dinner table: yuck.
lucymonster: (eat drink and be scary)
It feels strangely awkward watching movies about people who talk and behave like me! I know I’m not alone in that; Australian cultural cringe is a well studied phenomenon, and we don't exactly have a local equivalent of Hollywood churning out all-Aussie blockbusters on a regular schedule. When I think of Australian cinema, I think of boring arts grant dramas that no one wants to watch and culturally hyperspecific comedy that we don't want anyone else to watch lest the world know us for the bunch of dags we really are. Fun, tropey genre films are supposed to be about Special Fake Movie People with accents I've never heard in person and manners that are upside down from mine.

And yet, as I'm learning through my local library's streaming service, there's some really good Australian horror out there. I couldn't tell you exactly where to find these overseas, but at least some of them appear to have had international releases, so for all I know, they're on Netflix for you guys. I'd be so thrilled to hear what people without my cultural biases think. :D

The Tunnel (2011): This is a mockumentary about a news crew who fall foul of a mysterious subterranean killer while investigating a lead related to Sydney's network of abandoned train tunnels. The tunnels are real, and I vaguely remember hearing spooky rumours about them during the early 2010s, which I'm now thinking may have been part of a guerrilla marketing campaign for this film, lol. Anyway, this one scared the everloving shit out of me. The vibes are fantastic, the mockumentary gimmick is executed flawlessly, and most of all everything was just so familiar. I used to get everywhere I ever needed to go on those exact Sydney trains. The characters are completely normal, relatable Aussies of the kind you could meet everyday on the street. The actual plot is a bit thin but I was happy to overlook the silly bits because it was just such a damn enjoyable viewing experience. And the monster was SO FUCKING CREEPY. Pick this one if you like mockumentaries and/or wish to know more about ya girl from dreamwidth's old commute.

Relic (2020): A mother and daughter drive out to a small town in rural Victoria to check on grandma, whose neighbours haven't seen her in days. She is missing when they arrive, but reappears in the house days later, unwilling or unable to explain where she's been. Her stately country house is covered in what looks like black mould and there's a terrible black bruise on her chest. This is a heartwrenching film about the grief of losing an elderly parent to dementia, and also a fantastic haunted house story full of dark family secrets, unanswered questions and unexplained paranormal phenomena. The creaky old house and the damp, miserable evergreen forest surrounding it threw me back to the days of visiting my own grandparents. It really does capture the highly specific atmosphere of a certain kind of well-off but precipitously ageing rural town in southeastern Australia; I swear I could almost taste the air. For whatever it's worth, the Russo brothers are credited as executive producers; I don't know much about movie production and have honestly never been sure what kind of role an executive producer plays, but hey, those were two names I recognised. Take or leave the name recognition, though - I loved this movie either way.

Talk To Me (2022): A group of South Australian teens acquire an embalmed hand that lets them summon dead souls to temporarily possess them. But one of their séance parties goes too far, and a malevolent spirit decides it doesn't want to leave. This is a mix of paranormal and psychological horror that's as much about grief (the protagonist lost her mother to a very obvious suicide that her dad won’t admit to her was suicide) as about bloodthirsty ghosts. I am not sure why reviewers chose to bill a movie this thoroughly depressing as "fun" - it was fun at the start, sure, but by the end it had descended to a truly tragic place. I liked it a lot! But it definitely belongs on the downer end of the mood spectrum.

You'll Never Find Me (2023): In an isolated trailer park in the middle of the night, a young woman knocks on an older man's door to beg shelter from a violent thunderstorm. The woman is desperate, drenched, and seems unable to get her story straight about how she got there or where she came from; the man is withdrawn and antisocial and was drinking alone before the woman arrived. They both seem frightened of each other. Something about the situation is unmistakably off, but what it is exactly, the film plays close to its chest for the first exquisitely slow hour. This is a quiet, cagey movie that ratchets up the tension through unnerving not-quite-normal dialogue and uncomfortable just-barely-off-centre close-ups so that when things finally start going overtly wrong at around the hour mark, it feels almost like a relief - pain is easier to bear than the anticipation of it. I don't often enjoy trippy, "what the fuck is happening here" type stories and I REALLY don't often enjoy stories that end in the particular kind of twist this one used, but in this case I was absolutely sold on everything. Brilliant movie. Raised my blood pressure so high I had to flop on the couch and just breathe for like half an hour afterwards. No notes.

Profile

lucymonster: (Default)
lucymonster

March 2026

S M T W T F S
12345 67
8 9101112 13 14
15 16 1718192021
222324 2526 2728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 01:22 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios